Skip to main content

Next Steps

What Next?

Thank you for joining us for one of our FIJA events. We hope you are inspired and eager to take action! This page is designed to make that easy for you if you are so inclined. Below you will find ways to:

 

Connect

Sign Up for FIJA E-mail

First Name
Last Name

 

 


 

 

Help

Support FIJA

Donors like you create more fully informed jurors every day by supporting FIJA's:

  • educational outreach programs including in-person community outreach, webinars, 15 Minutes with FIJA, our speakers' bureau, constantly expanding resources on the website, the Behind Closed Doors podcast, Jury Rights Day, etc.
  • research on proposed legislation, erosion of speedy trial rights using the pandemic as an excuse, the evolution of juror oaths and jury instructions to intimidate jurors out of exercising their right of jury nullification, the Jury Health Project, and more!

Your generous donation is MOST APPRECIATED and will be put to good use. THANK YOU!

 

 


 

 

Learn

15 Minutes with FIJA Weekly Zoom Sessions
Monday evenings at 8:30 pm Eastern / 7:30 pm Central / 6:30 pm Mountain / 5:30 pm Pacific
Join us for our weekly, live Zoom sessions to catch up on the major jury-related news of the week.

 

Upcoming Webinars
Twenty Million Angry Men: A Conversation with Professor James Binnall
Tuesday, 6 July 2021 at
12:30 pm Eastern / 11:30 am Central / 10:30 am Mountain/ 9:30 am Pacific

Are there valid, legal reasons for banishing millions of Americans from the jury process? How do felon-juror exclusion statutes impact convicted felons, jury systems, and jurisdictions that impose them?

In his book Twenty Million Angry Men: The Case for Including Convicted Felons in Our Jury System, Professor James Binnall provides the first full account of this pervasive yet invisible form of civic marginalization. Drawing on extensive research, Professor Binnall challenges rationales for excluding people convicted of felonies from jury service and highlights the benefits of their inclusion.

We'll discuss with Professor Binnall how, when it comes to serving as a juror, a history of involvement in the criminal justice system is an asset, not a liability.
 

 

Host a FIJA Speaker
FIJA has pre-screened a number of speakers on jury nullification and related topics who are available for in person and online engagements.

 

Behind Closed Doors Podcast
FIJA's unique podcast is the only one we know of that focuses specifically on the American jury system and the intended role of jurors in protecting individual rights and liberty.

 

Key Jury-Related Legislation
FIJA tracks key, jury-related legislation under consideration in the states for informational and educational purposes. It will be updated frequently throughout the year as legislative sessions proceed.

 

Jury Health Project
Where do our jury rights stand today? It is time for a health check. View our growing project compiling state-by-state details of numerous aspects indicative of the health or lack thereof of jury systems nationwide. It will be updated frequently throughout the year as our volunteers compile more data for us to share with you.