Skip to main content

Advanced Topics

Advanced Learning

For those who have a basic understanding of jury nullification, FIJA presents a variety of opportunities to dig deeper. In the resources below, you will learn more about:

  • how other aspects of the legal system—such as plea bargaining, asset forfeiture, speedy trial guarantees, etc.—either undermine or support our right to trial by jury and the benefit of jury nullification
  • specific subtopics under the umbrella of trial by jury—such as juror eligibility, jury selection, juror oaths, 

 

Upcoming Learning Opportunities

 

Punishment without Trial: 
A Conversation with Professor Carissa Byrne Hessick

9 February 2022
noon Eastern / 11:00 am Central
10:00 am Mountain / 9:00 am Pacific
Register Here

 

 

 

 

Past Presentations

 

2022

 

January

2022 State of the American Jury System

with presenters
Catherine Bernard, Bernard & Johnson LLC
Clark Neily, Cato Institute
Mike Maharrey, Tenth Amendment Center
Kirsten C. Tynan, Fully Informed Jury Association
19 January 2022

Related Material
References and Resources for the 2022 State of the American Jury System
Additional Questions and Answers (coming soon)

 

 

Previous Years

 

2021 Presentations